Getting a puppy soon and feeling "rusty" - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 1 Old 08-05-2014, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Getting a puppy soon and feeling "rusty"

Hi everyone,

I used to be very much involved into dog's world, I used to be a professional dog trainer (in-depth obedience), but it was a long time ago and I have not owned a dog in over 12 years. So now I feel totally "rusty" and not up to date on the dogs world of 21st century .

Our family finally decided to get a puppy (it took my husband 12 years to come around!) and I already found a breeder I want to go with. The breed is Olde English Bulldogge and the puppy is going to be 8 weeks when she comes home. Hopefully, if a female that just got bred gets pregnant, we should have her sometime in November!

So I wanted to ask all you, naturally minded dog owners, to please help me with a crush course on being a 21 century dog owner.

I am planning on feeding the dog primarily raw diet: raw meats (free of hormones, antibiotics), raw liver and other organ meat, raw meet with bones (not the sharp bones), raw previously frozen wild caught fish, some plain yogurt (I am thinking of White Mountain Brand as it is very fermented and unusually high in probiotics; I figured I will be marinating pre-cut meats in the yogurt for 30 min or so prior to feeding to the dog while she is still young).

The breeder will be feeding the puppy exclusively dogs food, so would it be safe to "jump" into raw diet right away or should I do it gradually?

Now what about NuVet supplements? I keep hearing how great it is. Is it really? Or maybe I should just pick a food derived human multivitamin, something like Garden of Life Family (where the recommended dosage is 4 capsules for an adult person), so that I could start with one capsule and increase to 2 or 3 as the puppy grows?