Dogs and earthquakes? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-13-2006, 12:06 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi! Does anyone live in an area where there is earthquakes? We have a great dane and we live in the Tampa Bay area of Florida. This weekend there was a 6.0 earthquake in the gulf of mexico near us and it was something that you could actually feel here. Ever since then, my dog has been acting absolutely nutty! He's been hiding in our walk in shower, he acts nervous all the time...just totally not himself.
Has anyone experienced weird things with their dog following something like this. I'm wondering if there are aftershocks going on that we don't feel. Earthquakes are incredibly rare here and we literally have never had one in m lifetime -- so I have no experience with this.
Thoughts? Could this be what is making my dog be acting so bizarre? He is acting terrified all the time.
Amy

Amy mama to Emily love.gif & Ben fencing.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-13-2006, 12:21 AM

I live in CA. Need I say more? I don't remember my girl dog acting weird around earthquakes but maybe I forget. Here though there are usually very small undetectable ones happening all the time so I think the animals are probably really used to it and would only freak out if a severe one were coming. The last one that was a major shaker was when she was a pup and I don't think she even woke up.

My girl dog is very sensitive to things. She definitely lets me know when things are off. Mostly though she's sensitive to me so if I act like it's no big deal she usually believes me. Like w/Thuderstorms she was really looking to me to see just how freaked out she should be...because she was sure this had the potential to really freak her out...and I don't blame her.