Anyone know about ear taping? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 08-28-2008, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I know our new pup Heidi is a mixed breed dog (boston terrier), and I'm not usually one for cosmetic-y stuff for dogs...that said, I've been thinking about taping her ears to acheive "uppies" instead of the floppy tips she has now. I don't think the ears are going to go up on their own, no signs of it at all. I'm thinking about it partially because of the hygeine factor (we're used to dogs with prick ears and like that they're less prone to infection) and also because truthfully I the look of prick ears on bostons.

Any advice, suggestions, thoughts? Note: I'm NOT talking about surgical cropping, just taping.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 11 Old 08-28-2008, 10:56 AM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
I'm no expert - not by a long shot! - but because Heidi is a mix, her ears might not be capable of staying up (depending on what her other parent was).

I have a Corgi, and I know some pups need their ears taped. But MOST Corgi ears stay up on their own - that's the way they are meant to be.

Taping might work for Heidi, if her ears are meant to be up, but it might not. I don't think it can hurt to try. I'm sure there are plenty of articles on-line.

If the chips are down, the buffalo is empty.

#3 of 11 Old 08-28-2008, 11:51 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Lots. I wouldn't do it for a pet, not in a million years. It hurts, they hate it, and if ears aren't meant to stand, they usually fall after taping, anyway. It's a lot of work for nothing, imho.

Mom to two beautiful boys, now in school to be a therapist and help other women with PPD.  

#4 of 11 Old 08-28-2008, 01:15 PM