I am scaring myself - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 17 Old 11-19-2008, 09:21 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Anybody ever feel like they are going to lose it with their children? For some reason, today I feel like I have no patience. I have been a cranky mom and short with my kids. I hate feeling this way - I think I just need a break! Maybe I am just not the SAHM type. What do you all do when/if you have no patience left?
#2 of 17 Old 11-19-2008, 09:30 PM

First I change the toddler's diaper and offer them both a snack and some water; then I put them in a childproof space, instruct the older one to tell me if anything really bad seems to be about to happen, and lock myself in my room with a book and a cup of tea.

I'm not very good at straight-up SAH parenting either, so I started a small business that puts my lovely college degree to work. I work about 10 hours a week. It helps some.
#3 of 17 Old 11-19-2008, 09:36 PM

It happens to everyone, I think. Just take a big, deep breath, lover your expectations for yourself... and roll with it. When I feel like that I go outside, to the park Hey, I figure I behave better in public....

There in a thread here on MDC about 'parental rage.' You want want to search for it (I think it is under self development or whatever that part was/is called. Sometimes you need a break, and if you are feeling down or whatever it might be hard to get that break.

Routines help--for the kids and for us... so does tea and a story on cd/tape/ or a short movie (if you do tv).

hh2.gif  ~~~~~~~~~~hh2.gif

#4 of 17 Old 11-19-2008, 09:40 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)