Mothering Forum banner

How Much for Piano Lessons?

2K views 10 replies 10 participants last post by  lindberg99 
#1 ·
My dd wants to take piano lessons. She has a friend who plays to a high standard, and the friend has agreed to teach dd. Bearing in mind she has no teaching qualifications, what would be a reasonable pay rate to offer her? She would accept whatever I suggest, and I want to be fair. Dd just turned 14, and her friend will be 17 this summer. I was thinking they could start with a half-hour lesson.

#2 ·
DD1 is taking lessons right now, and we're paying $22.00/half hour. They're private lessons at the local music place. They charge the same for other instruments, within a dollar or two. When ds1 was taking guitar a few years ago, we paid $25.00/half hour. The usual range around here seems to be $20.00-$30.00/half hour for private music lessons, depending the teacher.

#5 ·
I'm a piano teacher and I charge $25 for a half hour lesson. I have lots of experience, a University degree in Music, and am well qualified to teach.

In your dd's case I'd first suggest that you consider finding a teacher with teaching experience. There is a WORLD of difference between being able to play well and being able to teach the fundamentals well. I cannot emphasize enough what Lynn said: "teaching is more difficult than you might thing". I have spent hundreds of hours teaching, researching methods, studying pedagogy, etc, and I still find every student to be a unique challenge, and I spend a significant amount of time each week preparing for the next lesson to tailor it to their specific needs. I think teaching beginners (I'm assuming your dd is a beginner) is more difficult than any other level.

That said, if you do decide to have her friend to teach her I suggest you look on Craigslist and/or at local music stores to see what the going rate is in your area, and offer to pay on the lower end of that scale.

#8 ·