And Look How I Turned Out! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 36 Old 06-16-2011, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

When we tell people we're against corporal punishment, often they react negatively. They insist that because they were paddled at school, they turned out okay, and not in jail, and became a surgeon or something.

Okay. There may be something to this.

I stuck my finger into an electrical socket when I was four, now I'm a successful lawyer.

DH fell out of a tree. Now he's a successful development director.

What else contributed to your successes?  

#2 of 36 Old 06-16-2011, 09:20 AM

duh.gif

I had Lyme disease in second grade and now I'm a homeschooling mom/student midwife. No wonder!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On a more serious note, I think that the "Look how I turned out" folks don't want to have to think that maybe their parents were doing something harmful, so they defend/continue the behavior.

Midwife (CPM, LDM) and homeschooling mama to:
13yo ds   10yo dd  8yo ds and 6yo ds and 1yo ds  
#3 of 36 Old 06-16-2011, 10:26 AM

edited because the thread took a more serious turn

sleepytime.gif
#4 of 36 Old 06-22-2011, 08:05 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)