None of my business! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 20 Old 10-04-2011, 03:22 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

No, it isn't any of my business. But if I can't tell my friend how I feel, I want to let off a little steam here. 

I have a dear friend. We understand each other, even if we haven't seen each other in a few weeks. She will drop everything for you to lean on in a crisis and get a warm hug, and vice versa. We have been friends 10 years, pre-kids. Now we have kids around the same age. 

The last time I was at her house, I really snapped at her husband. He didn't get up until noon and then complained that she didn't wake him. It disgusted me. I said something like "You are a man, You can set the alarm and get up yourself." Yes, it was rude. But I have been holding my tongue for 10 years and something snapped.

He was her first boyfriend, and they have been together for 18 years. A long time ago her family and friends gave her a lot of flack for being with him, and she told me how hurt this made her feel. She said that this was the man she chose to be with and no one can see inside a marriage, and know what is about, except the people that are in it. What she said was wise, and I respected this, and kept it to heart, and made a real effort to not criticize him. When she was pregnant with her 3rd child, her family gave her grief again, and she said I was her only friend that said "That's wonderful, congratulations!" and that meant a lot to her. In my mind, I also thought, wow, she doesn't need that now; but I also thought this is between her and him and if she is sharing the news, then they have already decided and there is nothing left except to be warm and happy for her and supportive.