Tell me about having kids 3 years apart... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 17 Old 10-09-2011, 05:57 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have a 2.5 year old boy and we're thinking of getting pregnant this month, if possible.  I'm a teacher and don't get any paid maternity leave so it works out much better for us to have the baby's newborn days overlap with summer break!  (July/August)  Otherwise we split shifts during the school year.  So I can either get pregnant ASAP, or possibly wait until next year to aim to have baby a bit before summer break 2013.

If we had a baby now, my son would be 3 and a few months when the baby was born, obviously if we waited a year he would be 4.  I like the idea of 3 years in the sense that they will be at elementary school together, interested in the same things a bit more, etc.  4 years feels like a pretty big gap, but it would also mean my son would be in pre-k by then and Daddy could have the newborn alone during the day.  

To complicate things, I'm trying to open a school by the time my son is in K (9/2014, or if possible Pre-K in 2013) so part of me wants to have a baby sooner so that I would not be juggling a newborn and the biggest professional undertaking of my life at the same time!  

Anyone who has kids 3 years apart care to share what the transition was like for your first child?  DO you like that spacing or wish you waited longer?  My son is asking for a sibling, but of course, I don't think he has any idea what he's talking about.  It's a novelty and he has no clue what a baby at home would mean!  He's a very verbal, independent kid, but he's also still so much of a snuggler/baby.  He recently self weaned, potty trained, and transitioned himself to his own room (!!!), so I miss having a little baby!

Thanks in advance!  smile.gif

#2 of 17 Old 10-09-2011, 06:46 AM

Quoted: 6 Post(s)