What age will/did you start swimming lessons? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 06-04-2013, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
My younger dd is 4, and that's about when my older one started having swimming lessons at the YMCA. If I remember correctly anyway.

I am not an expert on swimming, though. What age do you think is the right age for lessons to start?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 22 Old 06-04-2013, 01:11 PM

Quoted: 11 Post(s)
I don't know that there's a right age, but for my kids I felt that the lessons we paid for prior to about age 4 were pretty pointless, so with any future kids I would probably wait until 4.

OTOH, some of my friends' kids (mostly those with backyard pools and therefore tons of early water exposure and a high parental priority on pool safety) were excellent swimmers already by age 4, whereas for my kids it seemed like it was just barely starting to sink in around that age.
meemee likes this.

DH+Me 1994 heartbeat.gif DS 2004 heartbeat.gif DD 2008 heartbeat.gif DDog 2014
#3 of 22 Old 06-04-2013, 07:49 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I started my son last year, about 2 months before he turned 4. I have noticed as he's gotten older, he's grasping the skills more quickly. His program teaches them basics first, like front and back floating and streamline kicking. Then they move into the swim strokes. He can now do the backstroke with guidance and freestyle with rotating onto his back and then roll back down to continue. He just graduated the beginner class and now is in the advanced class where the strokes are perfected and the breaststroke and butterfly will also be learned. They also learn safety skills too. He loves it and would probably like to try competitive swimming at some point. We are always at the pool in the summer which is why I felt it was important for him to learn to swim. I'll probably start up DD in 2 years.

Ryan 08-28-08  & Julianna 5-3-11