Advice re: babysitting requests... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 06-20-2013, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello all :) I'm a single mommy to a great 5yr old little girl, I'm also a full-time student & work out of my home part-time.

I've been dealing with a "friend situation" for the past year +, and am at my wits end as to how to deal with it... My friend, we'll call her "D" entered into single parenthood 1 1/2 years ago after the passing of her husband. She has three children, and while she doesn't "have" to work, she does 3-4 days a month to remain current in her profession. (she's a paramedic) When she works, her shifts are 12-24hrs... Rather than procure traditional child care (like myself) she relies on her friends. I get "hit up" at least 2x a month, she usually expects those watching her kids to come to her house... As she lives over an hour away, this is a pain in the butt...  if not, she'll bring them to you, but, this means that the kids stay 24-36 hours with you... and they are not well behaved children. They haven't received counseling, etc. following their fathers passing, and each has emotional and behavioral problems, to the point of defiance, abundant lying, & destructive behavior.