Questions about AP - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 27 Old 07-07-2004, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi, I am new to MDC, but have been lurking for quite a while I am expecting my first baby in Feb. I have agreed with ALOT of the information I have found here---natural birth, CD, vaccines, HS, ect...but still have some reservations about AP. I do know I want to sling, have the baby sleep in our room (we dont have room elsewhere anyhow!)

My friend gave me a copy of Babywise and before reading it, I read through all the Ezzo threads last night. While I got the sense you didnt like it, there were'nt really definitive reasons why. I read (babywise) last night and agreed and disagreed with it. What I agreed with was that I do not want my world to be focased around our baby but the baby to be part of our world.

I disagreed with some his general anti-AP stance and the fact that his times when baby is awake he's in a bouncy seat and not in my arms!

Here are my questions....

My concerns about demand feeding: have you found that the baby just "snacked". Ezzo's writing about the baby not getting enough hindmilk made sense if baby just nurses for short periods. I also have concerns about weight issues stemming from food being used to comfort--dh and i both struggle with weight.

Sleep- I want my baby to get enough of it. Have you found that your children get the "recommended" hours of sleep through AP? Do they get adequate "long" periods of quality sleep?

Lastly--any books that you would recommend?

Im defintely not trying to promote this method or anything, but before we decide how to parent our baby, i want to have all sides of the story! Kwim? i just wanna be a good momma!
#2 of 27 Old 07-07-2004, 07:12 PM

nak :infant: so this will be brief...