If you could, would you have started having children at a younger age or older? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 105 Old 08-07-2004, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
As for me, I had my first baby when I was 22. This gave me just enough time to finish college "distraction" free. So, I'm glad I got my degree and I had a great time, but sometimes I wish I'd started earlier.

If you could go back, would you change the time in your life that you became a mother? Why? ....Just curious.....
#2 of 105 Old 08-07-2004, 07:42 PM
Administrator

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
I would go back and start earlier. I started trying at 27...and I am coming up on my 30th and still no baby.

I would have started when I first wanted kids, 23/24. Then maybe I would have a baby by now.

winner.jpg Adina knit.gifmama to B hearts.gif 4/06  and E baby.gif  8/13/12 (on her due date!) homebirth.jpg waterbirth.jpg

#3 of 105 Old 08-07-2004, 07:56 PM

bs"d

Adina

I think I would like to have started earlier also, but not by much. I had my dd at 23. I would have liked to have her right after college at 21 (I graduated at 21) or sooner after at 22. I am glad I had a chance to work full-time in my field for 2 years pre-baby and pre-SAHM-dom, though. Sometimes I think I would have liked having her even sooner (so I could have more kids at a younger age), but I'm glad I finished college overall.

Actually, the timing wasn't too far off perfect!
#4 of 105 Old 08-07-2004, 07:59 PM

Nope. I had my first when I was 26, my 2nd when I was 28, and my 3rd when I was 30. (The plan is that we're done, hopefully that is the case...)

That gave me enough time to 'play' before having kids. Get all the partying out of my system- get stronger and more secure in my relationship w/dh. (We were together 8 years before getting married and married for almost 2 years when dd was born.)