Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Note: This is an archived topic. It is read-only. Mothering Boards
Parenting Issues Archive
any other students?

This topic was originally posted in this forum: Parenting Issues
Author Topic: any other students?
lil' love
Member posted 08-26-2001 08:30 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm a student at the University if Central Florida and I'm taking 3 classes this semester. It is a lot harder then I anticipated to go back to school and make enough time to love my two children. Sometimes I feel so overwhelmed.
We went out and bought this new computer I'm typing on yesterday so That I didn't have to also make time to go to the library and type up papers and do research. Which is very nice!
Before, I also had to somehow find time in the day to do that also.
I'm an eduction major right now. i would like to teach Science, particularly earth sciences.
Anyone else a student mother? what are you studying and how is everything going for you?

queen bee
Member posted 08-26-2001 11:22 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I used to be.
I was in a graphics BFA program, with a grueling class work load, a husband in grad school, and a baby that was sort of a surprise. I regularly did these all-nighters on campus where we had studio space. I'd set up a little playpen under my big drafting table (late 80's...I bet they only have little computer tables now...) and my sweet boy would sleep and I would cut and paste and draw the night away. Sometimes I would bring him to class. We were a very small, close-knit department, and people were very supportive. It was very hard though, and in the end I decided not to do a BFA project. It was a matter of sanity. It was all worth it though. Having my son, and finishing college.
Be flexible, and don't be afraid to re-examine your goals every once in a while. Good luck!

queen bee