I'm scared I don't like infants! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 30 Old 06-13-2005, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
A little background: we have a 20 mo. old DD and no plans to TTC #2 until next summer. I have always thought three kids was a great number. I generally like children, I have a degree in human development (!), and I enjoy being a mom.

This weekend we were at a baby shower. Baby was present, maybe about 6 weeks old. It seemed to me that he cried most of the night, and he seemed to be spitting up a lot. Now, DD had reflux so I was kind of wondering if that might be what was going on with him, until I remembered that all babies spit up, or at least I think they do. And, he was at a party, so maybe he was just cranky or maybe mom didn't feel like she could nurse him as often or whatever.

Anyway, I asked to hold him and man, he was not pleased. I shifted him around but couldn't ever get him to settle. All at once it was like the feelings of inadequacy and stress came rushing back at me... I just felt like a complete idiot for not being able to get him to calm down. You know, my kid's walking around the party hanging out with all these adults she's known her whole life and I'm guessing they're thinking, "How did she raise this one so far when she can't get the baby to stop crying?" Someone even said something about "Have you forgotten already?" Whew. I felt like I had a huge flashing neon sign that read "NOT GOOD WITH BABIES" over my head.

I kind of think newborns scare me. I know they did before I became a mama, but I thought that having one of my own would take care of it. Apparently, it didn't. Give me a toddler any day. But this makes me nervous about my plans to have more... and it makes me feel like some kind of freak mama - I mean, who doesn't like newborns? What is wrong with me? :LOL

Katherine, mama to Emma Kate (7) and Griffin (3)

Sponsored Links
Advertisement