How do you "night wean"??!! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-05-2003, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My dd is almost 6 mos. and still nurses almost every three hours day and night... How do you night wean? Just not nurse her when she wakes at night?? But isn't she hungry? How will she get enough food? Make up for it during the day?? You can tell that I'm new to this, but someone please explain....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-05-2003, 02:03 PM

Personally, I would wait until you can talk with her and know she can understand and look foward to a plan. This is what I did. Nightweaning after about 18 months seems much kinder to me.
Old 02-05-2003, 02:55 PM

I would agree that 6 months is too young. I would wait until at least 18 months or so. My ds is 20 months old, and I still don't think he is entirely ready. I am going to give him a few more months before considering it.

If nightwaking is still an issue when she is older, you can check out www.drjaygordon.com. He discusses compassionate nightweaning, but is adamant that it not be applied to a young child. A lot of moms here have used his approach.
Old 02-05-2003, 03:03 PM

My DD is 6.5 mos and I agree it's definitely too young to nightwean. DD has recently begun teething heavily, and added a night feed b/c of this. I think they have a real need for it at this age, and gentle child-led weaning advocates stress the need to wait until the child is much older.

teapot2.GIF Homeschooling, Homesteading Mama to DD ('02) and DS ('04)  ribbonjigsaw.gif blogging.jpg homeschool.gif

Old 02-05-2003, 03:11 PM