Older siblings repeatedly hurting/being mean to younger ones. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 02-22-2006, 12:29 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I can't post this in Gentle Discipline, as I want to hear from others, who may be a bit firmer with discipline.

For the most part, I am very respectful and cooperative with my children. Many times I have had long discussions with dh, with an attempt to work on keeping our house a peaceful, happy place, which is respectful of each individual's needs, and 99% of the time we have just that.

However, something is bothering me very deeply. My background is that of being the youngest child, with two older brothers. The middle brother was terrible to me, growing up, and the oldest would join him, probably in hope that he wouldn't turn on him. I am talking about physical abuse, hitting teasing, constant badgering etc. It went on throughout the teen years, and to some degree even into the adult years. Some of you may remember a post I made awhile ago about ongoing extended family issues.