Video games good or bad - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 06-16-2003, 02:12 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello I am a newbie here. This is my first time posting a thread. I was wondering If I could get your point of view on video games for young children. What do you think?
#2 of 8 Old 06-16-2003, 07:25 PM

I, personally, am not a fan of video games. My brother and I grew up without any sort of video games, and I'm glad of it. Instead, we played outside - we swam, built treehouses, played tag w/all the neighbor kids, and even made up our own outside games! What did we do when it rained? We READ!! Or colored, or played w/Legos, or played dress-up, or listened to music, or played board games.

I think that video games (to make a HUGE generalization, here) are a big part of our society's obesity problem. It really doesn't help one's physical condition to just sit on the couch and stare at a television screen (I know I'm pretty much doing that as I type this : ). That argument aside, what about the mental aspect? If a kid is playing a video game, he/she is NOT reading or using his/her imagination, or even interacting with another human being. Plus, *I* happen to think they can be addictive (just like MDC ). DH has an X-box, and when he plays it, is not aware of his surroundings at all. Our puppy peed on his foot once, and he didn't even know until I said something. Also, when I do succeed in separating DH from his X-box, he is extremely grumpy and complains about it until he gets back in the flow of real life.