Mothering Forum banner

**UPDATE ON UPDATE** Update on DH & paternity suite served to him.

967 views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  BklynJen 
#1 ·
http://www.mothering.com/discussions...=garrettsmommy

Hope this link works. It's my first time trying to link in a post. It's my original thread about this. Back in December a policeman served Dh with a paternity suit. We did not get a lawyer because we talked to the prosecuting attorney and she advised that all we needed to do at this point was send a letter requesting a DNA test. We did that in December. The letter was stamped "so ordered" and returned to us. The prosecuting attorney said we would receive a letter in the mail stating when and where the test would be done. We never received anything. I kept hounding Dh to call and find out what's going on and for reasons unknown to me he was "dragging his feet". Finally I blew up at him last week and told him he would call and find out what's going on. He just talked to the prosecuting attorney today and, well guess what!! No one (not even mother and child) showed up for the test and now they have defaulted and stated Dh is the father. The prosecuting attorney said he needs to file a continuance on Monday and also she would try to find out why we were not sent a letter about the test. Dh was like "I guess you were right, I should have kept hounding them". DUH!! We are now in over our heads (not knowing how to file for continuance) and I told him that he will get a lawyer on Monday.

I am so ticked off. (at DH) I know there are lawyer mommies around here somewhere or people that have been through something like this. Do you have any advise for me? Thanks.

See less See more
#2 ·
wow... I just read your other thread..and that was quite a roller coaster of emotions from so many people! phew...