breastfeeding @ 5 months - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 30 Old 01-22-2007, 11:42 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
We haven't had the easiest time bfing... thrush, cracked & bleeding nips, tongue tie... I am a midwife & an outspoken breastfeeding supporters, but I'm telling you, if dh & my mom hadn't been pushing me along to keep bfing, I probably would have gone to formula. It just hurt SO MUCH for such a long time.

So it was really cool around the time Erin hit 5 months, it dawned on me that that girl has not had a drop of anything but MY MILK & I just felt so SO proud of that! :

This is in no way a criticism of anyone who has used formula, but breastfeeding is so much harder for some of us than we thought it would be (despite having a degree in midwifery!), we ought to feel damn proud! :
#2 of 30 Old 01-22-2007, 12:23 PM

yay, congrats Jen!

Sorry it has been hard for you, and good mama kudos for keeping it up!

I just love looking down at DS while he's breastfeeding, I feel so close to him then. I have taken a couple photos from that view since I feel like that's how I see him most of the time, and want to remember!

--k
#3 of 30 Old 01-22-2007, 12:27 PM

ah, the adventures in breastfeeding! i know how you feel/felt, it was a struggle for us too, but we are oh so proud to still be exclusively breastfeeding.

its interesting to see it develop... from those sleepy little newborn days where you have to wake them up to keep em nursing... to now, where sometimes i think i am nursing a monkey or an octopus or a hyena!
#4 of 30 Old 01-22-2007, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by blairinargentina View Post
...sometimes i think i am nursing a monkey or an octopus or a hyena!
don't you know it!!! still though, I don't think I've noticed her getting excited about bfing yet (it's more just arms & legs flailing as she explores my body, her body, etc).