Carseat question... - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 16 Old 05-01-2006, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I was thinking we would be buying another Britax convertible seat for this next baby (9/06). I am realizing though that our 2 yr. old DD is 30 lbs. and may actually be ready for a Britax booster -- I may be able to use her convertible seat for the new baby (?).

Does anyone know when is a good age and weight to move a child into a booster instead of the regular carseat? My older two children are old enough now that I simply cannot remember when they moved into a booster seat!

Or maybe a two year old Britax seat is too out-of-date already and I need to replace it?

Any thoughts appreciated!
#2 of 16 Old 05-01-2006, 05:10 PM

I'm no expert, but I thought that carseats were good for 5 years before you are supposed to replace them. My friend just moved her almost-3yo into a booster, and it seems really young to me! She assured me her dd meets the height/weight reqs, but I don't feel like ds (27mos) is ready for one. I'm sure you can find the guidelines for boosters somewhere - good luck!

Keeping busy with 2 boys & 1 girl ('04, '06, '08)
#3 of 16 Old 05-01-2006, 05:54 PM

From what i have read they are supposed to be 40 pounds and 40 inches, or at least 4 years old. My son is almost 4 but only 35 pounds and 37 inches so he is still in a car seat, except for once in awhile we have a booster seat in my moms car in case she needs to drive him home. I just dont feel like he is big enough yet to be in it all the time.
#4 of 16 Old 05-01-2006, 06:17 PM

the national guideline is 4 yrs old and 40 lbs before moving to a belt-positioning booster seat, and 6 yrs from manufacture date of car seat (printed on seat) until expiration.