I need help w/ social/work situation - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 03-02-2006, 07:44 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
so i'm 5 wks preg. and am keeping mum about it except for close close family (parents and sister). I am especially keeping mum about it at work (I'm a lawyer and if you watched Sex & the City you recall that being pregnant at a law firm is like having the plague)...Any how, my firm is having a happy hour soon and I don't know what to do. If I don't drink I'll be grilled about it (especially given the drinking tendencies of my lush boss and coworkers). I always go to the happy hours so if I don't go that would also be strange and elicit a lot of questions. What should I do!?! HELP.
#2 of 8 Old 03-02-2006, 07:51 PM

Hopping in from the June DDC.

DH and I went to a family wedding before we were ready to tell anyone. He has a lot of cousins our age, all pretty into partying. I made sure to order my drinks at the bar when no one else was in ear-shot (or to "graciously" be last in line), and everything I ordered looked like it could be alcoholic -- Shirley Temples, Rob Roys, non-alcoholic beer, etc. (For the record, if you're queasy, Shirley Temples sit much better on the stomach than fake beer!!!)
#3 of 8 Old 03-02-2006, 08:01 PM

yep, I'd say either do virgin drinks, or tell anyone who is rude enough to ask that you're on antibiotics and can't drink while you take them.
#4 of 8 Old 03-02-2006, 08:16 PM

If you are really stuck order an alcholic drink and "accidently" spill it a few min later. I have used this trick when I was TTC and not sure if I was prego yet. Then you have to go to bar alone to get another. Waste of money, but avoids questions

Kim, mama to Anna Blair 11/23/07
#5 of 8 Old 03-02-2006, 09:21 PM