What is "natural" anymore? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 09-11-2006, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi. I am a pregnant grad student in anthropology. I have been doing my thesis research on birth (perfect timing, lucky me). I was wondering what ya'lls definition of "natural bith" is? I have heard a lot of different combinations. Does it include epidural, episiotomy, suction? What if someone has to reach up to dislodge a shoulder, turn a baby? I am interested in hearing what it might include versus what it doesn't.

(I would like to use any answers in my research as well, but names and identifing information will be changed for confidentiality.)
#2 of 6 Old 09-11-2006, 12:28 PM

There is a difference between vaginal and natural. You might get more responses if you post this directly under I'm Pregnant.

IMO, Natural means no meds (pain relief or augmentation of labor) or any unecessary intervention. I wouldn't call a little help turning a baby as not natural.
#3 of 6 Old 09-11-2006, 12:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by pregnantresearcher
Hi. I am a pregnant grad student in anthropology. I have been doing my thesis research on birth (perfect timing, lucky me). I was wondering what ya'lls definition of "natural bith" is? I have heard a lot of different combinations. Does it include epidural, episiotomy, suction? What if someone has to reach up to dislodge a shoulder, turn a baby? I am interested in hearing what it might include versus what it doesn't.

(I would like to use any answers in my research as well, but names and identifing information will be changed for confidentiality.)
IMO... Most of Vaginal births are often not Natural births...