Do YOU take time-outs? How do you do it? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 11-27-2008, 04:27 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm still a bit new to GD- reading Positive Discipline right now, and finished Raising your Spirited Child. I have a 2 year old, and most of the time (esp. after reading Raising your Spirited Child) we are getting along swimmingly 95% of the time.

The Spirited Child book was good because it made me realize that I am also a spirited individual (and more specifically, that my son's strongest spirited trait (being slow to adapt to change) is my own strongest spirited trait. Eeks.)

In any event, I have a temper. I know other moms here must too. Do any of you use something like a time-out or cool-down spot or mode for yourselves-- both to actually chill out but also to model an appropriate way of dealing with strong emotional reactions for your LOs? If so, how do you do it? How do you talk about it with your LOs? Is it an actual spot, or just a set script that you use to talk about how you are feeling, or what?

Having read a little bit about time-out spots, esp. for children this young (see http://www.positivediscipline.com/ar..._Children.html) I don't want to have a time-out script/spot for my LOs unless... I'm using it too which would really help make it look non-punitive (which would be my ultimate goal.)

I know that getting more tools in my GD toolbox will help prevent me from losing said temper in the first place (the Spirited Child book gave me a lot of tools already), but I am realistic to know myself and know there just aren't that many tools.

Thanks!

Distraction is not the same thing as play.
Be part of the diaper free revolution. 

DS1, 6 years.  DS2, 4 years.  DS3, brand new!  (April 2012)

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 11-27-2008, 05:59 AM

I mostly followed the Dr. Sears idea of "benching" vs. "time-out".

Time-out = time to be alone or reflect or calm down