HOW to change to grace-based discipline? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 07-16-2009, 05:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i have only searched back a few of the current posts, so not sure if this topic has been dealt with ad nauseum, but, please, i need help, and i hope this is the place to start in the right direction.
i will start off by saying that i've been a spanker and yeller towards my 3yo and even to my 18mo. i cringe in writing that b/cs it breaks my heart. what really breaks my heart more than that is that i haven't even always done that form of "discipline" calmly and rationally, but rather emotionally and even in anger.
i'm relatively new to the concept of grace-based parenting, but i know in my heart that it's the right thing, and my dh is on board 100%. the problem is, neither of us really know how to move forward in terms of getting over our bad habits, and also wonder how much it's going to affect our boys in the transitioning to a more "off your butt" approach and really trying to positively discipline... train instead of beat (so to speak). i'll admit i'm scared. i'm scared of my temper and i'm scared that now that they've "responded" to spankings and my frustrations that they won't want to respond to anything else, even if it's more positive. is this erroneous?
i'm reading 2 books right now: grace based discipline (a christian parenting book) and easy to love/difficult to discipline. the info so far is good, but i'm still overwhelmed w/ the literal HOW-TO part of moving forward. can anyone here help me w/ some specific suggestions/advice? and if nothing else, i'll just take encouragement that it can be done!!!