Feeling like a bad mama, hoping for some support :( - Mothering Forums
Gentle Discipline > Feeling like a bad mama, hoping for some support :(
lawschoolmama's Avatar lawschoolmama 03:31 PM 02-20-2010
Ugh, I just feel like I need to get this all out of me right now, so it will be a bit of a vent and search for support As a bit of background: DD is 28 months old, and I am currently 21 weeks pregnant with her little sister This pregnancy hasn't been as easy as the last one--I work full-time now as an attorney (I was a law student when PG with DD), I have been sick constantly, first with morning sickness, then with nasty colds, the stomach flu, etc. And I just feel like I have so little patience right now with DD, and it makes me sad and guilty and I'm already dealing with some guilt related to my concern that I will not be a good enough mama to two DCs, the fact that DD recently weaned because of no milk, etc. I just feel like I'm not at all living up to my own GD ideals: I'm not playful enough, I'm not patient enough, I'm not happy and easygoing and calm enough. I'll be doing great, and then I'll just suck and feel bad about it the rest of the day As an example: She had a tantrum this morning because my sister ate the same cereal that DD likes, and DD mistakenly thought that my sister had eaten it all and there was none left for her. I was very calm and patient, rocked her, spoke to her gently, and soon her tantrum passed. I felt great. Then we got into this big power struggle over brushing teeth, which lately has been happening at least twice a day. I've tried everything with teeth--but each "trick" only works once or twice then we're back to the power struggle. What do you do when they just will not brush?! Also, she's potty-learning and doing great--so why do I feel frustrated and almost compelled to complain when sometimes, like today, she doesn't want to use the potty and wants a diaper instead? Argh, I don't know what my problem is, I just feel like a crap mom w