Quoted: 8 Post(s)

AP Mom to 5 knit.gifhomeschool.giftoddler.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-11-2010, 12:39 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Wow. I have no advice as I am a newbie parent myself, but I can hear your desperation and sadness. I want to send you hugs and best wishes.
Old 05-11-2010, 12:51 AM

I'm here because I'm anxious to hear some answers. We do GD and unschool and you always hear the positives of how that plays out and the bright, intelligent, self governing children it produces but I'm wondering what you do when they seem to turn on you and there is a good amount of time spent wishing you could just hide from them.

We think greenearth.gif  Gentle mama to 3 amazing kiddos. Rainbow.gif Recovering from religion. heartbeat.gif

LIFEschooling. upsidedown.gif Extended NAKing. winner.jpg Graduated cloth diaperer. cd.gif

Old 05-11-2010, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thank you both for your support. I think reality is a lot messier when you have more than one kid or a kid without your typical "example" personality. My oldest is a gleaming example of how unschooling or GD work (usually) but with the other kids' personalities...I look like some crazy person who doesn't know how to parent sometimes. I'm just stumped.

And sorry about the novel! I tried to cut it down but was upset when I wrote it and I get wordy when I get upset.

Old 05-11-2010, 12:11 PM

I'd put 8 and 5 in school for a year. Then, you can concentrate on 2.5 and your new baby. 2.5 might even like going to daycare in the mornings to play with some new kids, and then you can have more time to indulge 9 and bond with baby.

My reason is this: if the situation has become too much to handle, it is not going to get better on its own. Perhaps the younger kids have gotten so used to having every whim fulfilled that they truly don't realize there are other people in the world who also have needs and wants.