Tell me about GD! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-29-2011, 07:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm new to GD so tell me about it!  My DD is 18.5 months and of the high spirited temperament.  I share this temperament so obviously trying to AP my little can be challenging sometimes.  I'm intrigued by GD and would appreciate an idiot's guide from BTDT to see if it's right for us!  TIA!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-30-2011, 02:01 PM

There are things about GD that I understand and some that I don't- I'll just say that to start withwinky.gif

I think that the basic principle behind it is the same as what is behind being AP; treat others as you would want to be treated.  That children will learn to respect others by being respected and so forth.  And also children learning how to come to terms with their strong emotions with the support and gentle guidance of the adults in their lives.  Punishments like "time-outs" and spanking are not helpful when it comes to teaching a child how to cope with emotions.  Instead, it is better to listen and validate the child's feelings without trying to change reality for them. 

There are a lot of articles out there about it that can give you a good idea of what it is, without reading a whole book.  But there are books if you want to dive in further.  The only one I have read so far is Raising Our Children, Raising Ourselves.  It was pretty good, I definitely got some good ideas from it, but I'm also looking at some more structured approaches.

wife to DH 6/25/05, mama to DS 5/26/08 & DS2 9/1/10
Old 01-30-2011, 04:01 PM