#1 of 8 Old 10-20-2012, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

#2 of 8 Old 10-22-2012, 12:45 PM

Maybe you could ask her not to put your child's name on the board, and instead you guys can come up with a simple way to make your  child accountable for his or her behavior.  It would help if you had some alternative ideas for her to use with your child.  

#3 of 8 Old 10-22-2012, 01:55 PM

I am a teacher and I do this, except I don't write names on the board as I feel is can be too much for a sensitive child to see their name up there. Also it gives some kids a certain 'notoriety' that i want to avoid. Instead I write it in a little book and usually all I have to do is pick up the book for them to stop talking. I also give them a chance to earn their name off. If they do stay in it is only for a very short time.

Basically, as a teacher, you have to have tools to manage a large group of chatty children. It's very different from what you would do as a parent. I would approach this very gently with the teacher. Maybe just say that your child is feeling embarrassed by having their name on the board and ask if there any other ways that chattiness can be addressed. Acknowledge that you understand the importance of your child learning not to speak out of turn. You are both on the same side. You want your child to have a successful and happy school experience.