I hurt my son :( - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 17 Old 12-19-2012, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi guys, I dont know if this site is STRICTLY for women but i could really use some help. This is my first post by the way. I'm a 23 year old man with a 3 year old boy and a 6 month old girl. I am in uni studying forensic computing and information security, and im a musician. I like to think im a generally calm nice guy with a relaxed attitude to life, i love my children and take them wherever i go, my son loves to help me make music and play games with me and i take him to uni on my days off and he sits and watches thomas while i do my work. my daughter also loves sitting on my lap helping me to play video games :P and she gets soothed when i sing to her (daily) however on top of all this i suffer with anger issues, but it is 99% of the time directed at inanimate objects (for example when a problem arrises i leave the children in a safe place, leave and punch a wall or something to try and calm down... or scream... however i know this is counter-intuitive) but today i crossed the line and cannot stop crying or close my eyes. my son is quite rough with my daughter and he gets told off for doing so, tonight however he was messing around with a toy that wieghs more than 2.5kg and he nearly crushed her skull in. as he brought the object down it landed on her hands (she was on her belly having tummy time) but i reacted so fast, in that split second i lunged over grabbed him by the scruff of the neck and the belt buckle and threw him into a wall. after a long cry he was fine and eating chocolate, no cuts, bruises, grazes nothing and he gave me a kiss but i have crossed the line and i NEVER want to hurt my children again. my wife is telling me im scum and should die and i cannot get the image of his horrified face out of my head, i well-up everytime i close my eyes. i maintain that this wasnt nesecerally out of