13 month old has started slapping - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 09-13-2013, 06:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
DS is our first child so I have no experience of disciplining children as yet and just know that I really want to avoid being a disciplinarian as much as possible. I do however believe that certain behaviours are not acceptable - slapping people in the face for example....
Sadly, this past month DS has started doing just that. He's obviously testing his boundaries and generally being a cheeky monkey because he laughs after slapping someone. I'd really like to nip this behaviour in the bud before he becomes old enough to learn that this is 'bad' and a good way to get a reaction from someone. He is only 13 months old though so I'm not sure how much he understands what he's doing, or even where he's learnt this from (DH and I have NEVER raised a hand to each other and when I'm in work, DS is cared for by my parents who also don't hit). He is very bright though and I reckon he knows slapping is getting a rise out of someone.
So far when he slaps, we remove his hand and say 'No, we don't slap/hit people. It hurts.' I'm not a fan of time outs/punishment/reward systems at all. Does anyone have any other ways to tackle this?

Married to Mr. Crunchy June 2008 partners.gif ~ welcomed our beautiful boy August 2012 babyf.gif ~ TTC another bundle of joy whilst breastfeeding, babywearing, co-sleeping, cloth bumming and raging against the routine. I love my unvaxxed boy novaxnocirc.gif
#2 of 8 Old 09-14-2013, 04:48 AM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)