Consequences for a 3 year old? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 07-23-2004, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is my first time starting a thread here. My son is almost 3 and so far in his short little life he has responded very well to distraction, redirection, short/easy to follow instructions and consequences to his actions. He also responds to "1,2,3" but we rarely have to get that far. My husband and I try very hard to patient, no yelling/screaming etc. We are 100% against corporal punishment and have never/will never spank.

However for the last week our son has really been procrastinating at bedtime. We have a set routine (video, jammies, teeth, 2 books) and bedtime is consistent-between 8 and 8:30. His new thing is to really dilly-dally, fight jammies, he gets very distracted when brushing his teeth (playing with the water, needing to wash his hands again and again), wanting to watch a little more, now I need water, etc etc. We have tried to be more flexible- Ok you don't want jammies? Here's a t-shirt. All along reminding him that bed time is the same no matter what and if he wants to wash his hands again that means less time for a video, he wants to watch more video? Ok less time for books. Most times when I say Ok time for bed he gets up, turns off the TV and off to jammies, books and bed we go.