I need help for 2yr old that says no no no no no and no! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 03-30-2005, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi all,

This is my first time posting on GD. I usually hang out at multiples board. I am having an issue with my 2 yr old (27 mos) and I'm not sure how to handle it. He seems to get so frustrated and I can't always even tell why. For example, last night he woke up and came downstairs while Iwas cleaning kitchen. this was about the 4th time up and it was only 11pm. I let him stay up this time with me and have a snack. Then I said time for night night and we started to walk back upstairs. I had a million things in my hands and he asked me to hold him. I said sure wait just 1 minute while I put these things down. Well that did it. He ran away saying no no no no. I went to him and asked to hold him or what he wanted or needed. More of no no no no. I can't even get out of him what is bothering him or what he wants.

Let me also say that getting him to bed is tough. I give him a choice to sleep with mommy or daddy. (Usually I nurse my twin girls (9 mos) and daddy sleeps with ds.) Sometimes he'll pick but his answer is usually no no no no. I try to offer other choices but he doesn't pick. Then I say if you can't make a choice then I will have to pick for you. And then the no's come again.