Help - dh believes yelling and spanking are OK - Mothering Forums
Gentle Discipline > Help - dh believes yelling and spanking are OK
ebethmom's Avatar ebethmom 04:46 PM 05-27-2005
Dh and I have been arguing over ds's discipline issues for the last 9 months.

Ds is smart and strong-willed. I believe that he needs a creative, consistant approach to positive discipline. In my professional life, I teach small children how to play the violin and I also help coach their parents on positive interaction.

Dh tells me last night that he is using one of MY approaches to teaching when he's dealing with ds. At bedtime, he uses a preachy monotone to say "Son, it's time to go to bed." He says this to ds over and over and over. And ds just tunes him out. Now dh tells me that this is his interpretation of "young children learn through repetition."

Dh also tells me that he thinks that yelling at ds is part of his discipline plan. That when he needs ds to listen to him, he HAS to yell.

And that he thinks it's time to start spanking ds.

I have a whole LIBRARY of GD books. But dh is too busy to read them. He wants to take a parenting class.

We're going in for counseling after we move next month. But I am so angry with him!! I can't believe he can be so boneheaded about our future.

I've known that we have lots to work through, but I thought he at least knew that yelling at a child is wrong. All along, I've been thinking "at least he doesn't beat our son like he was beaten by his father." But now I hear that he plans to hit our son in the future.

Evan&Anna's_Mom's Avatar Evan&Anna's_Mom 05:53 PM 05-27-2005