Need help to stop spanking and yelling. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-23-2003, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi,
I need some help.I am new to the whole AP way of parenting in some aspects.One of them is discipline.I rarely spank but want to
stop completely.How do you stop?What other ways do you discipline?I seem to use time outs for my older ones about 5 minutes if they are fighting or simply won't obey after being told a few times.
My three year old son whines all the time and sometimes that is really hard to deal with.That and my dd and ds fighting.Which happens every day.How do I deal with these things?
I was raised with the spare the rod spoil the child aspect and also a lot of verbal and emotional abuse.And I have succeed in not doing many of the things that my mother did.
Oh yes,the yelling that might be a bigger problem then the spanking and it seems to be harder to stop.I start without thinking and then I hear how I sound to my children.It's so awful and I just want to stop.
Please help,needs lots of advice and suggestions.
Sonya
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-24-2003, 12:43 AM

I'm so happy for you and your family that you want and intend to move towards more positive parenting. !!!!

I highly suggest the book "Siblings Without Rivalry" !! asap

Also "Everyday Blessings; the Inner Work of Mindful Parenting"

And "NonViolent Communication"

These books (as if you have time to read a bunch of books, but still...) offer tremendously helpful advice and perspective.

It is the truth that children want to please...that they naturally want to be social and learn how to fit peacefully into their world. Believe in them and trust them.

It is also the truth that they are children and are therefore entitled to act as such. Don't expect them to be little adults. Respect their time of life.