Cold and Flu Season - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 12-16-2006, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am new to this message board, but I needed a group of more like minded people because I feel like I'm going crazy on my other message board sometimes. My question for you ladies is how are you going to protect your newborn during cold and flu season. I have a 2 1/2 year old, and I don't plan on locking us up in the house. While I don't think there is anything wrong with this, it's just not something I wanted to do since I have a toddler. Breastfeeding and frequent hand washing is how I plan on protecting my baby. Are you guys going to try to avoid others for a couple months? Just curious. TIA
#2 of 9 Old 12-16-2006, 03:10 PM

Hello and Welcome!! I am chiming in from the Dec board...

I had my baby 2 weeks ago and right now she has a terrible cold My 2 1/2 year old got it first and then passed it to me and now the baby. We have no clue where Elle got the cold from because she had not been out of the house for over a week and a half before getting it so it is definatly something that we brought home to her. We are avid hand washers and we did not even have anyone over to our house other than my mom who was not sick and did not catch the cold from Elle either.

My advice is lots of handwashing, vitamins, and probiotics!! I started taking probiotics the day I got sick and my cold is almost completly gone after only a few days. Elle has been sick for 12 days but is finally getting better. I am hoping that Meadow will recover quicker than Elle since she is nursing but it sure is scary having such a sick little baby!!

I hope that you and your family make it through cold and flu season in good health!!

Amy