We aren't anywhere near picking a boy name yet - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-03-2007, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm expecting a boy (feb. 14 is my due date). We aren't anywhere near deciding on a name.

Here's our current list (but it keeps changing - we add new names and then decide we can't imagine calling our little baby something else on the list - on and on and on...):

Blake
Brendan
Brennan
Cole
Colin
Ian
Jason
Kenneth
Kent
Lane
Owen
Weston

Middle names are up in the air but David or Edward are often on our list as they are family names.

So - do you like anything on the list? Have other suggestions that you think people who kind of like those names might be interested in? We're mostly of decent from the British Isles but I have ancestry from all over Europe. My dh is a history teacher; I am an artist. We like names with a strong meaning and some sort of historical context or connection (aka - we don't do entirely made-up names or co-opt them from a culture we have zero history with), but we also don't want a top 10 name either. Dh wants one that is solidly manly, not snotty, but not unintelligent sounding. (how's that for vague?) :

Naming our dd was sooooooooooooooo much easier!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-03-2007, 04:15 PM

I like Colin Edward, Ian David, Owen David and Brendan David.

Don't worry about it. You'll find a name eventually, even if it's after he's born. We don't know what we're having and we don't have any names picked out. Our plan is to meet the baby and go from there.

Mama of three.

Old 01-03-2007, 04:18 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Not in your DDC...but

Valentino? since you are due Feb 14

Boys names I can't use I like..
Baker
Greene
Cooper
Trey

Good luck!
Old 01-03-2007, 04:30 PM

Here's my honest opinions:
Blake - soap opera name
Brendan - i like this but my friends baby is brandon
Brennan - interesting