Very low supply after return to work... been there? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 03-11-2009, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Copied and pasted from my Yahoo question post)

My baby is two weeks old today. I had six weeks maternity leave. Returned to work about two weeks ago. Mostly BFed until my return with some supplementing (mostly at night to let my body adjust before coming back to work). Since working my supply has diminished a great deal... and I mean it REALLY has taken a hit. I am not able to pump a whole lot ( I'm a high school teacher). So... I would like to know how you guys boosted and maintained your supply.

This is what I have been doing since I returned plus other factors:
If baby is awake before I shower (5:30am), I BF him. Planning period @ 9:30am I pump. Then I have not been able to pump or BF until after school (2:30pm or even later... usually about 3:30-4). Started taking fenugreek capsules last week. Not seeing great results yet. BUT... (here is my big factor that I am curious to know what your experiences are) I also starting taking birth control a few days after I came back. Wondering if that could be it?

And this is the new pumping schedule I am trying today:
Pumped on the way to work (I have a 45-50 minute commute and it is still dark out at the time I leave-- I bought the vehicle adapter for the pump and wore an outfit that would allow me to do it discreetly anyway). 9:30am -- pump (planning period). Lunch I will pump (12:15-12:30ish). And then I will either pump on the way home or before I leave the school so that it will not be SO long between pumping. (I am still taking fenugreek)

Do you think this will help to boost my supply enough without going off of the birth control pill? What are your experiences with this kind of issue?
33 minutes ago - 4 days left to answer.
Additional Details