pumping challenges - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-03-2010, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
anyone else feel like when they pump they dont get as much as when the baby breastfeeds?? i only get about 1-1.5 oz per breast (i pump one boob while feeding him on the othger), and so it takes forever to pump enough for the baby to have 1 bottle.

any tips? I need to get some coursework done since im a FT gtrad student, so I need to pump sometimes and it's just not working right now!!! eek!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-03-2010, 03:12 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
1-1.5 oz's is a great amount when you are feeding the baby as well! I noticed a bunp in how much I could pump by following the 'hands on pumping' technique.

try googling 'hands on pumping stanford' to find the video.

Texmati-- Knitter, Hindu, vegetarian, WOHM. Wife to superdadsuperhero.gif and mom to DS babyf.gif24 months, and DD boc.gif 8 months! .

Old 05-03-2010, 07:54 PM

Even when engorged, I could never pump more than a few drops. It's not just the suction I need, it's the stimulation of the milk buttons, which are way down on the areola. I actually had better luck just hand-expressing. Also, my friend mentioned it usually took her about an hour to pump a bottle's worth, which the baby could drink in less than 10 minutes. Boo.
Old 05-03-2010, 08:59 PM

If you need to build a stash I would add a pumping session in your day that is in addition to any breast feeding you are already doing. I know alot of moms have the best luck in the morning.
Old 05-03-2010, 10:27 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Definitely pump in the early morning when supply is at it's highest, and try pumping an additional 2-5 minutes after the flow stops. You can often get a second let down of reserve milk which not only increases your yield for that pumping session, but can increase your overall supply. I had to pump exclusively for all three of my infants, so I learned a few tricks!