Nipple permanently stretched? bad latch that can't be fixed/yeast, please read! - Mothering Forums

Nipple permanently stretched? bad latch that can't be fixed/yeast, please read!

UrbanSimplicity's Avatar UrbanSimplicity (TS)
09:55 PM Liked: 11
#1 of 3
01-09-2011 | Posts: 940

HI - wasn't sure how to best explain, but I could use some help!  I have 2 dds, 2.5 and almost 5, so I've been nursing for about 5 years straight and from only my right side (long unrelated story).  my second dd has always had a horendous latch - a real cliff hanger and also has a maxillary frenulum - all this i realized onlly when i began training to do mom to mom bf support.  also, i have battled yeast for about 4 out of 5 years.  my nipple is soooo stretched - as in long. i am trting to talk to my 2.5yo dd about how to open wide, etc for a better latch but it seems that this better latch is no longer to be had after years of her stretching and pulling on my nipple.  i worry it will never go back, should i ever have another baby (and remember i cannot nurse at all from the other breast).  i guess my main question is - can a nipple be permanently damaged?  i think the combination of bad latch, her stretching and pulling and my skin having constant yeast (which i read can permanently damage skin if it goes on long enough) has lead to a nipple that doesn't work so well anymore.  today she told me she could not get any milk out, though i am getting my period in a few days so i will wait and see.  sorry for the long paragraph - i cant edit or hit "return" on this board tonight.  thanks for reading!rr

letileon's Avatar letileon
07:38 PM Liked: 10
#2 of 3
01-10-2011 | Posts: 136