Is it possible to get bottle-fed baby back on breast? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 04-11-2011, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Due to numerous complications, my 6 week old has been bottle/tube-fed (NG) since birth. She's latched on a few times but she's never really gotten anything from the breast as far as I've been able to tell. 

I am hoping that she will be off the tube feedings in a month or so. I would really love to be able to nurse her, but I'm wondering if it will even be possible so long after birth?

I haven't been attempting to nurse her the past week or so because she has thrush, and I think we need help with our latch anyway. We're also dealing with a bit of oral aversion after a bad case of reflux which is slowly getting better. 

Any tips? Resources?

(I've been pumping - supply is not an issue).

Baby Boy 9/08 & Baby Girl 3/11

#2 of 5 Old 04-11-2011, 02:24 PM

Anything is possible!

I am no expert but I would continue trying.  Our bodies can amaze us.  At least she will have breast for comfort.  LLL has a forum of their own as well you could get help there too. 

This first link has a # you can call for someone in your neck of the woods.  (404) 681-6342

http://www.lllofga.org/

http://www.llli.org/resources.html?m=0

'09   
#3 of 5 Old 04-19-2011, 12:41 PM

I bottle fed the first few days, then gradually transitioned to BF.  I did have some problems with latch at the beginning, and with thrush, etc.  But it was very worth going through the difficulty of the transition!!

#4 of 5 Old 04-20-2011, 10:08 AM

Yep.  But first, remeber that you aren't the only person in this equation.  The baby gets a vote too!

That said, I bottlefed my twins for 2 months before they latched.  A friend of mine got her babe back to the breast after 5 months!