slow growth...need help!!! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 09-04-2011, 06:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I just had my 4th child, she is 25 days old today.  I nursed my first a month shy of 2 years, my second for 5 years, my 3rd is still nursing at 2.5, and now this one.  I have been nursing non-stop for almost 6 years, so this is not new to me at all. 

All my babies have been over 9 lbs. until this one, she was 6 lbs. 14 oz. at birth.  By the time we got out of the hospital (3 days later) she was 6 lbs. 4 oz. which wasn't quite 10% of her birth weight, so they were slightly concerned, but not alarmed.  At her home visit 2 days later, she was 6 lbs. 9 oz. so all was well with the world as far as I and the LC's from the hospital were concerned.  On the day she turned 2 weeks, I took her to breastfeeding support group to weigh her, and she was 6 lbs. 8 oz.  WHAT?  So, 2 days later they had me bring her in for a weight check, and she was 6 lbs. 9.8 oz.  All is well again, bring her to group to weigh her next week...so I did.  At exactly 3 weeks, at group, she was 6 lbs. 12 oz. so, since I would be unable to attend group this next week, I requested a weight check for yesterday.  She was 6 lbs. 10.2 oz.  Again, WHAT?  I nursed her and reweighed her, and she was 6 lbs. 11.7 oz.  So, this does not appear to be a volume issue. 

The LC is freaked out and send us to the ER where they attempt a spinal tap (fail), 2 IV's (fail) and do some blood work.  They admit the baby and the pediatrician on the floor says we are not going to go the route the ER was going and says to not retry the spinal tap, IV, and antibiotics they wanted to put her on.  But, because of what they put her through, she was very lethargic the remainder of the day and today too to an extent.