Not liking any of my options - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 02-23-2012, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

DS is 9.5mo and I recently went back to work. My supply is fine but I'm no longer producing for the pump; if I'm lucky I get 3oz a day and DS needs 10.  I only have about one months supply left in my stash plus a week off of work so I might be able to stretch it to  1.5months.

DS eats plenty of solids during the day but he won't take them instead of his bottles.  He bf's 7-10 times in the evening, overnight and early morning so I'm not really concerned about nutrition if he didn't get those daytime bottles.  He's also getting over MSPI, he seems to be ok with yogurt and cheese, but may have a full blown soy allergy.

I was hoping that I would be able to pump until June when I'm off for the summer, BF on demand and then not worry about supplenting on September when I return to work again, but that plan is quickly going out the window.

I've tried fenugreek and Mother's Milk Tea, both increased my supply, but I still couldn't express anything.  I stopped them both for fear of getting a blocked duct at work.  I'm using both a hand pump and electric pump, I've also tried hand expression.  Nothing seems to be working.

So, right now I only see my options being supplementing with formula, cows/goats milk, or plant based milk.  Which would you choose? 

I'm really disappointed that DS is probably not going to have exclusive BM.

Mom to DSfemalesling.GIF 13mo.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 03-01-2012, 09:22 AM

I found that when I pumped on one side while nursing the baby on the other, I got lots more milk and a much stronger let-down as well.  You might also want to try switching him to a cup when you are away from him.

#3 of 4 Old 03-01-2012, 09:38 AM