Clearing Mastitis W/O Antibiotics? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 02-28-2012, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi!

I'm new here, so hoping Im' doing this all correctly. I'm new at a lot of things actually, like being a mom and breastfeeding and the whole nine yards. So I have an almost 3 week old baby (WOAH!) who is a nursing champion (as well as a cuteness champion). He eats very often, is growing big and chubby and I am sooo happy nursing is going well. Well until yesterday. I got a breast infection. :(

My midwife recommended all kinds of herbs and vitamins and homeopathics (but I don't believe in, homeopathics, honestly), and I'm wondering if anyone else has had any luck curing one of these buggers without antibiotics.

Currently I'm:

Drinking tons of water

Consuming ridiculous quantities of Vitamin C

Taking an immune booster with echinacea and shittake or something

Doing hot compresses

Resting like crazy

Monitoring my temperature and taking advil if it goes up again 

I am feeling better than I did last night, but I guess here's my concern: I had symptoms of it two nights ago and did nothing and thought nothing of it and it went away on it's own until the next night when I had it again in the other breast. Then I took my temperature and put all the pieces together (achiness, warm, very full, painful breasts, etc...)

Has this natural approach worked for anybody else? All I can find online is to go straight to antibiotics. 

THANK YOU! SOrry that was so long!!

#2 of 10 Old 03-01-2012, 08:56 AM

I never did have masitis, but it sounds like you are doing lots of things right.  It is like any other illness, and can go away without antibiotics.  Keep in touch with your midwife if things get worse.  Take care.

Jeanne, mom to 4

#3 of 10 Old 03-01-2012, 09:21 AM

Quoted: 6 Post(s)