bf challenge story - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 05-30-2006, 11:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am new to this but have received so much info from lurking! I had bf challenges with #1 but was told and thought myself it was due to having gall bladder surgery when son was 6 weeks old. He was losing weight and we started supplementing at 2 months old. I was so emotional over this and didn't understand why I wasn't able to provide all the nutrition he needed. I, like others I've read, cried through the 1st bottle I gave him I just KNEW #2 would be different and I would be able to strictly bf like I was made to do! We were in the hospital after having #2 and having troubles already! I started pumping from the get go! I was told he was a "sleepy" baby...after dehydrating twice and having to watch them put an IV in his little head we gave in and started supplementing with a bottle (we were syringe feeding). He is now 8 weeks old and rarely goes to the breast but I'm STILL pumping every 2-3 hours! UGH! I'm at a breaking point and don't know how long I can do this, but I also can't let it go either! I'm getting 1-2 ozs (about 13 ozs in 24hrs.). I've been working closely with amazing LCs and have been on Fenugreek and Blessed Thistle and an contemplating using Domperidone! Any advice/help/encouragement would be appreciated!
#2 of 7 Old 05-30-2006, 11:07 PM

mama...

lots of mamas on the low milk supply tribe thread have walked journeys similar to yours and might have domperidone or other suggestions...

are you open to craniosacral therapy for your son? it sounds like it might help with his refusal to be at the breast. many chiropractors know this technique. you can look at www.icpa4kids.com to find a chiropractor specializing in working with children as well as pregnant mamas.

~claudia
#3 of 7 Old 05-30-2006, 11:22 PM