Low Milk Supply Tribe -- Summer / Fall 2007 - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 08-23-2007, 09:07 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Well I think we missed a couple of seasons but better late than never.

For the newbies here is my story. I've been feeding two babies off one booby for the last 28 months (breast cancer survivor) Not exclusively, and it's been a very, very long and difficult road. I had a highly medicated c-section, two epidural headaches in the hospital that I had to take lots of pain pills for, two very sleepy jaundiced babies with ABO blood type incompatibility, crappy, crappy help at the hospital, one son with colic, the other with GERD, a skeptical husband, and a very-anti-bfing culture.

I've done just about everything there is to maximize production in the past, and am now on "cruise" mode. Still eating lots of oatmeal (I'm hooked) and the cheap fenugreek, but I finally dropped my last 10 mg dailys of domperidone (motilium). I was amazed that I did notice a drop in my supply from such a low dose to nothing. I'm still pumping once at work during the 3 days I WOH, and I used to get almost 6 ounces; now I'm lucky to get 4 ounces. And I'm feeling a bit "dry" when they nurse, IYKWIM. I'm in a happy place, though, with this gradual winding down. My boys are almost 2 1/2 and still love their neenees

Did you notice out sticky at the top of the page? I'm hoping it is helping out folks. Post your favorite hints & tricks there for all to see. I am seeing less "help my supply" threads since it got stickied, so I hope that's a good thing.

What's up with you guys? Anybody still hanging in there? Anyone new to our tribe?

Twin boys 04/2005 : Support breastfeeding rights at FirstRight.Org : warrior
Face the rear for MORE than a year! Toddlers' necks are safest in a rear facing carseat
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 10 Old 08-25-2007, 01:23 AM - Thread Starter

Where's my peeps?