Mothering Forum banner

About to give up making kombucha

603 views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  velcromom 
#1 ·
Ok, so my first batch I let sit for 14 days and it was so acidic, vinegar basically

my 2nd and 3rd batches were just OK, I let them sit for 5 days.....not acidic but slightly sweet, not bubbly at all

then I saw the 30 day thread and I let my bowl sit for 30 days. I just tasted it and it is absolutely horrible, vinegar.....so acidic and horrible....
I have 3 other bowls sitting because I wanted to have a batch a week and they all taste pretty vinegary too (except the most recent one but it's not that great either)

what's a girl to do?

#2 ·
I am not an expert, I'm just working on my first batch now. I'm sure there will be other, more experienced, responses.

But from what I understand--and this is what I'm doing--you can taste it as you go along. Just stick a straw in on the side, gentle with the scoby, hold your finger over the straw and pull some out.

I've been tasting mine as I go. So far it's been 8 days and it's still quite sweet. But I'm in Florida--hot weather--so I've been told 14 days is usually a maximum. I'm assuming that one day it'll turn from too sweet to perfect, and then I'll do the second ferment--which is what makes it good and bubbly. (Decant it to an air-tight bottle, and add a small amount of fruit and/or ginger). I'm planning on doing orange peel and ginger. Let sit for a few more days, then refrigerate.

I also understand that if you use black tea it is less bubbly than if you use green...

Hope that helps. Here's a Web site that was suggested here with lots of good answers: http://www.geocities.com/kombucha_balance/#Thin%20SCOBY .

Good luck!

#3 ·
I had a batch that was too vinegary and acidic for me to drink - it really burned! I was surprised that the taste really mellowed in the fridge after a week or so. And even though I didn't add extra fruit b/c I was planning to use it as salad dressing, it got bubbly.

#4 ·