help - what happened to my kefir? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 08-12-2009, 02:25 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I just bought some kefir grains from the Kefir Lady and i followed the instructions exactly and after 24 hours the kefir looked pretty clumpy, so I strained it and what was left in the strainer was very thick cottage cheese looking stuff and what went through the strainer was essentially water. What did I do wrong? And how do I recover my kefir grains from the thick curds in the strainer? Do I rinse it?

Attachment-Parenting mom to darling DS : (January 2006). : : : : :
#2 of 6 Old 08-12-2009, 05:40 AM

I'm not an expert and have only had my grains for a few months...

I saved my grains from this situation one time by placing them in a stainless-steel mesh strainer and gently rubbing a spoon around in them while under running water.

I also sometimes end up with clumps around the kefir and regular milk (looks like it, anyway) in the rest of the jar. Could you be trying to culture too much milk at one time? I've found that if I shake up the mixture before straining it, it gets more uniformly thick. I also have put it through the strainer as-is (i.e. clumps +watery milk) and then I shake the strained liquid and put in the fridge for 24 hrs.

I've found in the heat of summer that I need to do my culturing in the fridge or my milk goes off faster than the grains can culture it. It takes a few days instead of 24 hrs, but I have had great kefir for 2 months now.

"So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we’ll change the world." - Jack Layton

#3 of 6 Old 08-12-2009, 06:44 AM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
...maybe the holes in your strainer are just a little too small ?