Primal Diet? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 01-27-2010, 02:27 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been doing TF for a few months now but I have another 30 lbs to lose and am interested in the Primal diet. Could someone enlighten me on the basics? Is cooked meat okay, or is it all raw? I'm ready to place my order with the local farm for grass-fed steaks!
#2 of 14 Old 01-27-2010, 10:10 AM

Cooked meat is definitely okay on the Primal Blueprint.

Mark Sisson has put up his diet/lifestyle philosophy on his website, Mark's Daily Apple. Honestly, you don't need his book as long as you're willing to spend lots of time reading the articles on his website. But the book is nice if you want it all laid out in a logical fashion.

Here's the page that is most helpful for starting to figure it all out: Primal Blueprint 101. These two links from that page are good for starting out:

The Primal Blueprint Diagrams

A Primal Blueprint Sample Menu

But really, everything on the PB 101 page is worth reading.
CaraboosMama likes this.
#3 of 14 Old 01-27-2010, 10:18 AM

Which primal diet to which you refer? There are 2 by that name now.

Happily Married to my : 11 yrs- Mama to wild-eyed monkey boy 7-04, fiery little girl 4-07, and the happy smiley baby that sleeps 11-09!
#4 of 14 Old 01-27-2010, 10:30 AM

crunchy_mama, the book The Primal Blueprint was recommended to the OP on another thread, so I'm pretty sure that's the one she's talking about. But good point, as the other Primal diet is very different.

To the OP, the biggest difference you'll find between TF and PB is with grains. On the PB you greatly limit or, ideally, eliminate grains. Since it is pretty controversial to suggest eliminating grains completely, I'll put a couple links on that topic below. One is from Sisson's website, and one is from the PāNu blog.

Mark's Daily Apple: Why Grains Are Unhealthy

PāNu: The Argument Against Cereal Grains