water kefir making us sick? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 24 Old 05-02-2010, 12:05 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I started making water kefir about three weeks ago and we are really enjoying it. But in the past couple days I have been wondering if it's making us sick. DS2 threw up a few times this week and I think it has been linked to when he has had some water kefir (not much, just an ounce or two). DS1 loves it and does fine drinking a small glass. Then I was watching my neighbor's girl yesterday and she had some with DS1. Her mom called me this morning to tell me she had been throwing up all morning. I had a big glass with lunch today and have felt queasy ever since. Finally my DH asked if I thought it was the water kefir and I made all the connections. Is that what might be causing it? I love drinking it, but are we consuming too much? It smells and looks fine to me, but I'm new to this so maybe something isn't right. Or maybe we just all have a stomach thing and it has nothing to do with the kefir. Has this happened to anyone else?

Sarah , wife to Tyson :, SAHM to Landon (5), Coleson (3), and new baby boy due any day!

#2 of 24 Old 05-02-2010, 12:29 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Hey there! My opinion is that sometimes healthy things make us detox. They bring out all the yuckies out of you. So...in a way the WK could be making you "sick", but not in the way you might think. Detox is not always fun. It comes out in "colds" or feeling queasy or just plain ol' throwing up. If you feel comfortable with it and feel the WK is not "off" in any way you could keep at it and see if it truly is a detox period that would go away and leave you feeling even better than before. Just my thoughts. Talk to you soon!