16 month old with repeated episodes of severe vomiting after eating eggs - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 08-27-2010, 11:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is my first time posting. I hope someone can help me with this.

i have a 16 month old girl. i ate a traditional foods diet when i was pregnant with lots of our own free range eggs and have continued to do so while breastfeeding.

as one of her first foods she ate soft egg yolk at around 7 months. she loved the egg yolk and ate it without problems 2-3x. the fourth time she had the same egg yolk, she vomited 3 hrs after she ate it and continued to dry heave for 2-3 hours. she was pale and lethargic and then went to sleep. she woke up several hours later and nursed and seemed fine. the next day she had a smelly bowel movement but seemed fine otherwise. she had this same reaction a few more times until we figured out it was the egg yolk.

i then stopped the egg yolk and waited until she was 16 months to try again. the first time i tried she had no reaction and loved the egg, same for the following day. She ate raw egg yolk as well as fried.
i thought she had outgrown her egg allergy and then it happened again. same
symptoms as before. she is a healthy little girl without any other allergies. she did not get any vaccinations and she still nurses 3-4x/day.

has anyone had a similar experience? any advice? please help.

we have our own chickens and our whole family eats lots of eggs. i would love for her to be able to enjoy eggs since i know how good they are for her.
#2 of 9 Old 08-27-2010, 11:45 PM

I'm not a TF eater but the title of your post caught my eye from the main page b/c I have a child with severe tree nut allergies. Vomiting and GI symptoms after eating a food can be a sign of anaphylaxis. In the case of vomiting caused by a severe allergic reaction, blood pressure may drop to a dangerous point as well.